A

Adult Lectures

E.g., 2014-10-01
E.g., 2014-10-01
Wednesday, October 1, 2014 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wed., September 10, 2014, 1:00 pm, Wed., September 17, 2014, 1:00 pm, Wed., September 24, 2014, 1:00 pm, Wed., October 1, 2014, 1:00 pm

This course surveys the history of American visual art and its cultural contexts from the 1700s until the present.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014 - 6:00pm
Wed., October 8, 2014, 6:00 pm
Recital Hall

Patricia Fortini Brown, Professor Emerita of Art History, Princeton University, will deliver the inaugural Edward J. Olszewski lecture.

Saturday, October 11, 2014 - 2:00pm
Sat., October 11, 2014, 2:00 pm
Transformer Station

Join artist Julia Wachtel and Reto Thüring, curator of the exhibition, as they discuss Wachtel’s work and career in celebration of the opening day of her retrospective at the Transformer Station.

Sunday, November 2, 2014 - 2:00pm
Sun., November 2, 2014, 2:00 pm
Gartner Auditorium

Explore relationships between art and literature with author Francine Prose, who will discuss the photographer Brassaï’s influence on her latest novel, Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 1:30pm
Wed., November 5, 2014, 1:30 pm
Recital Hall

Sue Cavanaugh talks about her art.

Saturday, November 8, 2014 - 11:00am
Sat., November 8, 2014, 11:00 am
Recital Hall

British photohistorian Ian Walker, a contributor to the Forbidden Games exhibition catalogue, addresses the complex, sometimes contradictory views of Surrealist photography that have arisen in the 35 years since the first exhibition devoted to Surrealist photography was staged in Cleveland.

Saturday, November 22, 2014 - 2:00pm
Sat., November 22, 2014, 2:00 pm
Gartner Auditorium

American art expert John Wilmerding will look at the large body of work Frederic Edwin Church produced over several decades and multiple visits to Maine between 1850 and 1880.