A

Upcoming Exhibitions

Sunday, January 14, 2018 to Sunday, May 13, 2018

The beginning of the 20th century brought a surge of challenges to the prevailing styles and procedures for art making in Europe.

Saturday, January 20, 2018 to Sunday, April 15, 2018

Dana Schutz: Eating Atom Bombs debuts a new series of paintings by Schutz, one of the most influential painters of her generation. Created mostly in the past year, the works reflect the turbulent political atmosphere experienced in the United States in the wake of the 2016 election. Though our society may seem more divided than ever, the exhibition suggests that this uncertainty may be what unites us. In the words of the artist, “Many of the paintings depict dystopic scenes of conflict and shame. Subjects conceal and reveal themselves, trying to hold themselves together as well as the picture.”

CMA at Transformer Station

Opening Saturday, 01/20/2018

Sunday, January 21, 2018 to Sunday, May 6, 2018

“Nature is a great artist. The greatest,” said photographer Brett Weston, who made it his primary subject matter.

Sunday, February 25, 2018 to Sunday, May 20, 2018

Eyewitness Views: Making History in Eighteenth-Century Europe is the first exhibition to exclusively examine view paintings—more or less faithful depictions of a given locale—that also depict contemporary historical events.

Saturday, May 19, 2018 to Sunday, October 7, 2018

Already a respected photographer at age 25, Danny Lyon returned to his hometown of New York in 1966 and settled in Lower Manhattan.

Saturday, July 7, 2018 to Sunday, September 30, 2018
COMING IN 2018

Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors is a celebration of the legendary Japanese artist’s 65-year career, covering every aspect of the artist’s oeuvre from her early paintings to her widely admired participatory installations.